1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (30 days, 1861)

There were three regiments known as "1st Arkansas" during the war. The second unit with the designation of "1st Arkansas" was the 1st Infantry, Arkansas State Troops, which was mustered into Confederate service at Pitman's Ferry, Arkansas, on 23 July 1861, under the command of Colonel Patrick Cleburne; this unit was eventually redesignated as the 15th Arkansas Volunteer Infantry. The third unit bearing the title "1st Arkansas" was the 1st Arkansas Volunteer Infantry, which served with the Union Army.

This regiment was raised in April 1861 by Colonel Thompson B. Flournoy. It moved first to Virginia, but transferred back to Tennessee and served the rest of the war in the western theater, seeing action in the Kentucky, Tennessee and Georgia campaigns. Following its depletion in numbers, the regiment was consolidated several times with other Arkansas regiments, finally merging in 1865 into the 1st Arkansas Consolidated Infantry Regiment.



REF: Crute - Units of the Confederate States Army
Sifakis - Compendium of the Confederate Armies
Our research has identified 255 Confederate Units and 10 Union Units formed in Arkansas. Only two of these units, the 6th Infantry and the 16th Infantry have full regimental histories available. For most of these units our Historical Sketch and Roster books are all that are available.

For Additional Research